St. Mary's Secondary School, Ballina

Year Head

Year Head

Year Heads fulfil a pivotal position in the management of the school. A Year Head is appointed for each year group with their role being primarily disciplinary in nature. Disciplinary issues concerning each student in a year group are reported to the year head who keeps a record of such reports. The year head after liaising with subject teachers and other staff may speak to the student concerned, issue extra written work, contact parents, place the student on report or in detention, and liaise with Deputy Principals, Principals and School Counsellors. They may also recommend either suspension or expulsion be applied to students who persistently disregard school rules or advice.

2020-2021 Year Heads

1st Year: Grace Downes

2nd Year: Marie Clarke

3rd Year: Mary McGregor

Transition Year: Joanne Cullen

5th Year: Annette Leonard

6th Year: Angela Donoghue

May 25
Term Assessments (1st, 2nd & 5th years)
May 28
School Closes for Summer Holidays
Jun 09
Leaving Cert State Examinations
Congratulations to 5th yr student Amelhyne O' Regan-Farineau who won the Junk Kouture Film Competition 2020! Amelhyne was presented with a plaque for making a short film about St Mary's entry, beating off competition nationwide!
Have a look at this selection of the top young adult books of 2020…
Convent Hill, Ballina, Co. Mayo, F26 R928
353 96 70333
© 2021 St. Mary's Secondary School, Ballina